5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 29, 2009 7:50 PM by the_wine_snob

Advice needed on use of soundtracks

sholmlund

This question is perhaps too broad to be easily answered so if I don't get any responses, I won't be surprised (or offended).

I'm a novice editor. I want to add a soundtrack to a 4 minute new product demo video (automotive repair) that will also have narration. There's intro footage to set the stage (about 30 seconds), then footage of how to properly use the product (3 minutes), followed by a brief close. Some of the sound in my raw footage is usable but there are also still images with no sound and clips with sound I can't leave in.

Are there any best practices for the use of a sound track? I'm talking about the most basic stuff so don't be afraid to state the obvious. Have been looking at stock music sites but can't find anything appropriate. But even if I find something useful, I'd like some principles about how to properly implement. Even pointing me at a couple good examples would be helpful.

Thanks!

Steve

• 1. Re: Advice needed on use of soundtracks
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Premiere Elements 7 and 8 come bundled with SmartSound Quicktracks, a program for creating custom musical backgrounds at any custom length and in any style you want. (You can also download a free version of the program as a plug-in for any version of Premiere Elements.) You won't find a better program for creating custom, royalty-free music anywhere!

There are also a couple of sites that offer royalty-free music in a variety of styles for little or no money. Two great ones are:

http://www.freeplaymusic.com/

http://muvipix.com/

Muvipix offers a number of royalty-free music tracks for free, with an even larger library available for unlimited download to subscription members.

Depending on your purpose, there may be legal issues with using copyrighted music, such as music from iTunes or Amazon, so I won't include them in this discussion.