10 Replies Latest reply on Nov 16, 2009 5:04 PM by romanobstuder

Update Links in Illustrator

pvisell

Hello,

I am new to Indesign and Illustrator.  I have a document from the business that has all it's data derived from XML and images are linked.  The document also has graphs.  Again the data for the graphs is from xml.    Currently, this process is completely manual and obviously time consuming.  We thought that the entire process could be automated in Indesign.  We can output all the xml in the correct format and always put it in the same network location.

I have created a template in Indesign which has links to xml to feed it's tables.  I also have a graph placed on the document that I created in Illustrator.  Within Illustrator the data is obtained from an xml file.  Basically, I would like to just open the Indesign Template and all the links to update including the data on the graph.

Currently, when I open the Indesign template it asks if I would like to update the links within the Indesign document.  Therefore, all images and the data in the tables is updated.  But of course the data in the graph remains the same.  I was wondering if there is a way, eg script, which will open Illustrator, load the variables and update the dataset.  Then save the graph and close it.  Then I would like to automatically update the link within the indesign document to refresh the graph.

Please could you also include any code that would help me out.  Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Update Links in Illustrator
          [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant

InDesign itself doesn't talk to Illustrator, but you could take a look at BridgeTalk, which is designed to operate on both InDesign and Illustrator.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Update Links in Illustrator
            AdobeScripts Level 3

hi

if you work on PC - you can use VisualBasic to control both applications at the same time

robin

www.adobescripts.co.uk

• 3. Re: Update Links in Illustrator