3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 25, 2008 6:17 AM by Newsgroup_User

Spry menu bar links in template

Bannana fingers
      I'm new to Deamweaver, so please bear with me if I ask a stupid question...

I have created a template with a spry vertical menu bar in a locked region and made the spry menu bar an editable region as instructed by the pop up when attempting to place the menu bar into an editable region. all is well in the sense that the menu bar is working as expected, I am able to add or remove new navigation buttons change text and CSS rules applying to the menu bar, however the links that I have assigned to the buttons are not being applied to existing pages, but are to new pages based on the template...

Anyone any ideas why?
        • 1. Re: Spry menu bar links in template
          Level 7
          > Anyone any ideas why?

This is how templates work. Changes to the editable regions of Templates DO
          NOT propagate to existing child pages. That's because THEY ARE EDITABLE.
          It's only the non-editable changes that would propagate. That's the basic
          operting principal of templates. If this were not the case, you would never
          be able to have unique content on any page.

Now - you would NEVER want to have your navigation in an editable region
          (well, almost never - you could use a server-side include to place
          page-specific navigation into a child page's editable region). This defeats
          one of the strongest reasons for using Templates.

> made the spry menu bar an editable region as instructed by the pop up when
          > attempting to place the menu bar into an editable region.

Can you help me understand that?

--
          Murray --- ICQ 71997575
          Adobe Community Expert
          (If you *MUST* email me, don't LAUGH when you do so!)
          ==================
          http://www.projectseven.com/go - DW FAQs, Tutorials & Resources