2 Replies Latest reply on Oct 30, 2009 4:11 AM by RayneMaker99

How do I create a simple flare?

mkalavitz

Hello,

I am a total newbie to AI, so any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.

I am trying to create a simple flare that will make my light bulb look like it is glowing really bright.  I have been fooling around with the flare tool, but I can not figure out how to change the colors of the flare, etc.

I want the background of the flare to be transparent so that I can use it on any of my images and the image will show through.  There are 5 different color flares that I need since I have 5 different bulb colors...1 yellow, 1 blue, 1 green, 1 amber, 1 red.  I think that the scale should be about 25% height to 100% width...

Also, I want the same affect for a lighthouse image that I would like to put together...Like the light from the lighhouse is really bright and a focal

point.

Any help?

thx

Mike

• 1. Re: How do I create a simple flare?
          JETalmage Level 6

There's a multitude of ways to draw flares. But let's explore the Flare Tool a bit more. After all, it's been sitting there occupying primary tool space in the Toolbox for years; might as well use it in the rare times you have occasion for it. To get a sense of the behavior, try the following exercise.

(The following assumes a CMYK document.):

Additional tips:

Like so many Illustrator features, tweaking the settings in the Flare Tool's stupid modal dialog is excruciatingly tedious. Before clicking to create the Flare you are going to adjust, go to the View menu and Hide Edges. Turn on the Preview checkbox in the dialog. Now you'll be able to tell what your adjustments are making are doing, without Illustrator's annoying highlighting of every path in a selected Group. (Absolutely hideous interface. I despise this program!)