10 Replies Latest reply on Nov 9, 2009 6:36 AM by Jim_Simon

Best format for HD export?

CNF-Productions

I'm putting the finishing touches on an EPK for an upcoming indie film, working on CS4. The bulk of the featurette was shot on P2 cards in 720p, but it also includes tons of still images, some SD footage shot on Mini DV and clips from the 1080p finished film downconverted to 720p. The next step is going to be exporting it into a file for archiving, a file which the transfer house can dub to an HDCAM tape.

Thing is, I've never worked in hi-def before, this project marks my conversion from working exclusively in SD. And I'm having trouble figuring out how best I should go about exporting to a file. Obviously I know how to use CS4 Media Encoder, but I don't know what file format I should export in and what codec I should use for best results.

The most important thing here is quality. Hard drive space (or lack thereof) is not an issue, as we have an enormous, brand new hard drive to copy the final render on to. We would rather have an enormous file with the best quality than have to use some sort of lossy codec. Any ideas?

• 1. Re: Best format for HD export?
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Uncompressed or Lagarith.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Best format for HD export?
            CNF-Productions Level 1

Okay, next question...

I'm going to have to go with an uncompressed Quicktime file, since I need a 5.1 mix and I can't export with Lagarith to anything but AVI in Stereo.

I exported by selecting quality at 100 percent and "None" for my codec. Actually, I'll list all the settings I used below:

Format: Quicktime

Preset: Custom

Video Codec: None

Quality: 100

Width: 1280

Height: 720

Frame Rate: 23.976

Field Type: Progressive

Render at Maximum Depth - Checked

Aspect: Square Pixels (1.0)

Codec Settings: 32 bit

Optimize Stills - Not checked