6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 5, 2009 7:54 AM by rpollack-2

newbee needs suggestions for a search and replace script

rpollack-2 Level 1

I can't figure out this scripting stuff. I looked at the scripting guide I downloaded from adobe some time ago. I am not a programmer.

I do not need a script that says "hello world."

I need a script that will do the following:

Search selected text from one point to another. let me explain.

I create a table of contents in InDesign CS4. We separate our book sections by "section". So the TOC looks like:

Section 1

item one.... 1

item two... 2-4

item three... 5

Section 2

item one... 1-3

item two... 4-5

item three... 6

and so forth.

I then manually go in and change the TOC to:

Section 1

item one... 1 - 1

item two... 1 - 2-4

Section 2

item one... 2 - 1-3

item two... 2 - 4-5

Where the page reference in the TOC contains the section prefix and the page number provides the page range (if more than one page). Should mention that when I create the TOC I use a place holder in the TOC style set up for the section prefix; that is, my TOC initially looks like:

Section 1

item one.... X - 1

item two.... X - 2, etc. I then highlight a range and find/change for each range.

So, the script would do the following:

Look in selected text (the entire TOC) frame which at times spans two or three pages from Section 1 to Section 2:

Change the "^t (tab before number) to "^t (section number)(space)(hyphen)(space)":

And then look at next number (i.e "4") and change the previous end of previous line from "1" to "1-3"

Then repeat for range from Section 2 to Section 3, etc.

Currently, I do it manually. That is ok, but it would be great to have a script that would do this for me.

Thanks in advance,

RPP

• 1. Re: newbee needs suggestions for a search and replace script
          Paeon Level 1

The last thing you need is a script.