27 Replies Latest reply on Nov 30, 2009 11:52 AM by cflnest

Canon 7D Video Help

flovelett

I am primarily a still bird photographer with only a bit of experience using Premiere Pro. I just purchased a Canon 7D and hope to produce short video clips of bird behavior in HD.

I understand from reading this forum that Premiere Pro CS 4.1 does not support direct editing of the 7D .mov format and that the files should be translated to a different codec with Adobe Media Encoder. Could someone please explain to me (a novice Premiere user) which codec to choose?

I have already encountered major problems using PP 4.01/AME to export SD video to an iPod (there are a number of posts on this forum about this problem).

I am seriously wondering if I would achieve better/easier results using another video editor for the 7D video until Adobe more directly supports the 7D .mov format.

Thanks,

Felicia Lovelett

Win XP SP3  E8500 3.16 GHz/ 3 GB/RAM

• 1. Re: Canon 7D Video Help
          peterquixotefilms

I downloaded a *mov file from Canon EOS 7d today, and found the same problem.

Premiere CS3 just won't handle it. I upgraded my Quicktime program to QT 7.6 but no repsonse.

I have come to a similar conclusion that Premiere Pro is not able to import and process Quick time files .

There are lots of references to this difficulty, and strangely the Premiere elements program will import *mov files.

It is possible to convert *mov files to uncompressed files so that importation is possible, but the time and space make it seem impractical.

In many ways Premiere Pro is just not up to what is going on.

I will keep searching for answers and reply here if I find anything to help.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Canon 7D Video Help
            Dag Norum Level 2

Nowadays I am testing the 7D, and I am pretty much pleased with the results, both with stills and video.