3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 2, 2009 7:54 AM by slukacs

create nested movie clip

slukacs Level 1

hello one and all,

i am new to flash, i have cs4.  i created a 3 second flash animation of a logo.  i would like to export that into other flash projects, so that those projects will play the logo first.  so what is the best and most efficient way to do that?  i have tried to export the logo.fla file as a movie clip or swf file but importing it into a new flash project is a bit weird, like it doesn't come in as a single symbol, but as all of the components that make up the original animation.  i have watched many tutorials on nested timelines, but i can not find one on creating a mulitlayered movie clip in a separate fla file and then importing that as a single symbol into a new project fla.  any suggestions or tutorials?

thank you, lucas

• 1. Re: create nested movie clip
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

publish your fla to a swf and load the swf in your other projects.

• 2. Re: create nested movie clip
            Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Someone else may offer something else, but I would suggest creating the animation as a movieclip with a file and then copying/pasting that movieclip from the library of that file into the library of the file(s) you intend to include it in, and then just plant it in the file's timeline as desired..

Another option would be to dynamically load the swf version of the file when your other files run, but that may be more work than the copy/paste approach.

When you import an swf file into an fla's library, it is not anything you can control and it loses any actionscript, so importing an swf into a file is not a good solution in most cases.

• 3. Re: create nested movie clip
              slukacs Level 1