9 Replies Latest reply on Nov 3, 2009 10:21 PM by Flex harUI

Button Flicker?

William Spence Level 1

Hi.  I am not a programmer, so I am not actually looking for code as much as an explanation that I can share with my programmer to help point him in the right direction.  I hired a graduate student from a local college who is newly learning Adobe Flex.  We are creating an Adobe Air application using Flex Builder 3.  One thing that I have noticed is that every button that he has created has a really quick flash the first time you mouse over it.  Any subsequent mouseovers and you don't see it again.  But it happens when you mouse over any button on the screen the first time.  It is a really fast, single flicker that is just annoying.  Are we doing something wrong, or is this common with Flash and Air applications?  Is there a way to correct it that I could pass onto my programmer?

Thanks for any help!

• 1. Re: Button Flicker?
          Flex harUI Adobe Employee

Hard to say from that description.  Well-written apps don't flicker, but there are lots of ways to cause flicker.  Depends on what the code looks like.  Create a small test case, (one button) and see if it flickers and post the code if it does.

Alex Harui

Flex SDK Developer

Adobe Systems Inc.

Blog: http://blogs.adobe.com/aharui

• 2. Re: Button Flicker?
            William Spence Level 1

I will have my programmer make up a sample application as you have requested and I will attach the code that he uses to my next post.  Thanks for your insight!

• 3. Re: Button Flicker?
              William Spence Level 1