6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 7, 2009 12:25 PM by Mojorocker1964

Jagged lines on box when printed on press

agjscm

I created a design that contained boxes with no fill, only an outline (I'm attaching an example of the boxes I created.)  The blue one is not the problem.  It printed great on the press.  The gray one looks great on screen and when printed on my destop printer, but when I viewed the press proof this morning at our printer's shop, the lines of the boxes were jagged.  Aaarrgghhh...They looked horrible.  I've read a few posts on smoothing lines in Illustrator, but it seems like the discussions on this problem are for more complicated artwork.  My graphic is a box....I just want smooth straight lines! 

I have been using Illustrator for a year now and am self-taught (not so good, I know), but plan on taking some classes.  So I guess my question #2 is....is this the kind of stuff taught in Illustrator for beginners??? or should I take an advanced class?  Or maybe there is a support group online for people like me???  I'm so hooked on the design possibilities of the program but get so frustrated with the printing output.  I need to know what I'm doing, you know??  I'm constantly finding mistakes when we go to print...It's bad for my self-esteem...LOL

Any insight is appreciated...Thanks!

• 1. Re: Jagged lines on box when printed on press
          PrepressPro1 Adobe Community Professional