4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 6, 2009 12:08 PM by pixlor

How to expand images

I am new to Fireworks use Photoshop - but thought I would try Fireworks - so far it's brilliant.  I have a question that is bugging me -

I have an image, which I am using as an optin form, but I know there is a way to make the image expand when inputting text - how is this achieved.  I can get a fixed image and slice it and get it to work great - but I have seen these expanding images and would love to know how to create one.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: How to expand images
          pixlor Level 4

Can you post a link to an example of the effect you're trying to achieve?

• 2. Re: How to expand images
            digital48 Level 1

Hi  Thanks for answering so quickly.  I have attached file so you can see what I mean.  I need to know how to to get the border to expand when you insert text.

Thanks very much

• 3. Re: How to expand images
              pixlor Level 4

Edit...oh! Wait...NOW I get it...

Hang on...

• 4. Re: How to expand images
                pixlor Level 4

You have a table with fixed-sized images as borders. When you add text, the table breaks. This is a standard problem with using HTML export from a graphics program. What you need is to have fixed-sized images for the top and bottom and repeating images for the sides so that as the text expands (vertically) you have an element with a repeating graphic that accomodates it. Currently, you have a table. If you want to stick with using a table, then I would recommend slicing your design like this (it's a Fireworks .png):

I opened your .psd, flattened it, and then put slices over the flattened image. You would need five rows and five columns. The outer columns would be for the shadows on the page. You need three columns in the middle because of the placement of the button.