4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 7, 2009 2:47 PM by Oraxia

AdvancedDataGrid DataTip Function Kills App

Oraxia

I'm a brand new Flex developer, but I didn't see anything related to my problem on the forums so I figured it would be okay to ask

My problem is that if I add a dataTipFunction to my AdvancedDataGrid, my app will fail to run. The dataTipFunction right now simply returns back a string saying "testing dataTip function" (and other, more colorful and possibly nsfw messages when I'm particularly frustrated) because I can't get past the app stalling as soon as I set dataTipFunction="myDataTipFunction"

I'm using iLog with this (I have a Gantt chart in another panel, for which I have a separate and working dataTipFunction), and I am remembering to set showToolTip="true" on all my AdvancedDataGridColumn items, too. I do not have any custom renderers, either--it's actually a pretty boring grid.

Any ideas? I've already tried what is suggested in this blog entry:http://whatsmytitletoday.blogspot.com/2008/11/advanceddatagrid-datatipfunction-mess.html to no avail

• 1. Re: AdvancedDataGrid DataTip Function Kills App
          paul.williams Level 4

Can you post an example that demonstrates the problem?

• 2. Re: AdvancedDataGrid DataTip Function Kills App
            Oraxia Level 1

I'm not sure how exactly to demonstrate the problem, since the problem is simply that the application doesn't run, so I'll post the AdvancedDataGrid in question and the formatting function. Here is my AdvancedDataGrid:

<mx:AdvancedDataGrid
                                        id="textDataGrid"
                                        width="100%"
                                        height="100%"
                                        iconFunction="getTaskIcon"

dataTipFunction="myDataTipFunction">

<mx:dataProvider>
                      <mx:HierarchicalData id="textGridHierarchicalData" source="{currentActivities..task}"/>
                 </mx:dataProvider>