6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 10, 2009 8:44 AM by mygenaddy

Stroking a Path

mygenaddy

I've got a drawing that is currently composed entirely of paths. It's a pretty detailed outline drawing, so lots of closed and open paths, some quite small in size. My next step is to stroke the paths to create a vector image for printing. And now here's my question, which is so basic it feels dumb to ask, but I'm extremely new to this. (Thanks for your patience!) Is there a way to stroke all the paths at once? Or at least all the paths on one layer maybe? When I try to select all and stroke, I get an error. Thanks so much for your help!

• 1. Re: Stroking a Path
          JETalmage Level 6

What do you mean by "stroking a path"?

You are using ambiguous language. Use the terms of the program.

A path is a path, whether it has a stroke, a fill, both or neither.

You apply strokes and/or fills to paths.

A path that has a stroke applied is still a vector path, and will print as it appears.

In this thread and in your others, it sounds like you are using the phrase "stroke a path" to refer to the command to Outline a path's stroke. Object>Path>OutlineStroke draws a new path around the edges of the stroke of the original path, thereby (in the case of an open path) "replacing" the original open path that had a stroke applied with a new closed path that has a fill applied and no stroke. But that is not necessary in order to print something. Strokes are just as "legitimate" as fills for printing.

JET

• 2. Re: Stroking a Path
            Wade_Zimmerman Level 6

First of all what you want to do is of curse possible.

In the tool Panel or what some refer to as tool bar there is the proxy for fill and stroke. stroke is the opened box or outlined box if you wish.

Click on it to bring it to the front. You can select all if you wish and give it a stroke as long as you have a color selected as well.