5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 13, 2009 7:30 AM by T27

Butterfly Net Render and AE CS4

T27 Level 1

Hello,

Is anyone using Butterfly Net Render with CS4, Win XP Pro 64?

So far, we've only used it for Lightwave rendering, which seems primarily what it is for, but the Pro version can also render several other apps, including AE.

I am reading through the Adobe docs for Watch Folder, etc., but you'll have to forgive me for not being completely fluent with this and networks ..... what would also help is if the developer had bothered to include some docs on how to set up each app in detail - some FAQs about some, but not a word about AE.

I've been rendering Lightwave files with it for years, but I'm new to network rendering for AE.  BNR made LW network rendering a breeze, so naturally I've gone straight for it for AE.

If anyone can offer some guidance, I'd be very grateful.

Thanks.

Julian.

• 1. Re: Butterfly Net Render and AE CS4
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

I doubt you need to set up anything outside BNR. From my experience with Muster and Deadline, those render managers always render in local mode by creating little chunks of e.g. 4 frames and then creating a respective batch line command which the use to call the rendering app, where the output is set to the render manager's own watch folder. Short of telling it the paths to AErender.exe on each local machine (which, given Adobe uses a default path for everything, should be identical), I don't think you'll have to do anything. It may require some sort of dedicated folder to store the assets, so you will probably have to run a Collect Files from AE to create a "portable" project that can be placed there. In AE you merely add whatever comps you want rendered to the render queue and set its options....

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Butterfly Net Render and AE CS4
            T27 Level 1