8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 11, 2009 6:51 AM by the_wine_snob

Premiere 7 importing problems

mjauniversum

I'm a newbie, and having some troubles.

I want to import VOB-files from a DVD and then save them as mpeg2. When I do this I always get reduced quality in the new files. I have tried a lot of different settings, I have changed both project settings and saving-settings. What settings should I have? Is there an easy tutorial for this? The only thing I want is to have the saved files in the same quality as they were in the DVD. It seems like the quality drop is when I import the files from the DVD, because when I play them in Premiere I can see the difference.

Thanks for help.

/Tobias

• 1. Re: Premiere 7 importing problems
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

VOB files ARE MPEG2s, Tobias. You can use them as is just by changing their suffix to .mpg.

Further, Premiere Elements doesn't make a good converter for going from VOBs to MPEGs because it turns the files into AVIs before exporting them -- which means you go through a completely unnecessary level of conversion.

Will changing the suffix meet your need? I'm not sure what you want to use your MPEGs for, so there may be some additional considerations.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Premiere 7 importing problems
            the_wine_snob Level 9

Tobias,

This ARTICLE will give you some background on .VOB files. They can be a lot more than just the MPEG-2 files, so often contained within. This is especially true of the first .VOB from a DVD-Video, and can also differ in mini-DVD cameras, depending on the make/model.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 3. Re: Premiere 7 importing problems
              mjauniversum Level 1

Hi, thanks for your answer!