6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 9, 2009 9:57 PM by Jim_Simon

Sony HDR-FX7 not recognized

Shlacks_Production

Hi,

I'm a High Student and we got a Sony HDR-FX7 last year and I am in charge of it and I filmed something on the MiniDV tape and then when i went to capture it Premier Pro CS4 did not recognize it. I read somwhere else that since it's a USB and not a FireeWire that Premier Pro will not recognize it. However there's not Firewire imput on the camera... What do I do? Can I use an HDMI wire that converts into a Firewire? because there are not HDMI imputs on the school's PC.

• 1. Re: Sony HDR-FX7 not recognized
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Premiere works ONLY with a Firewire connection

I am not familiar with that model, but THOUGHT (I guess wrongly) that all miniDV tape cameras had a Firewire connection

If that camcorder does not have Firewire, you will need an external conversion device, with input from the camcorder and Firewire output to the computer

Old forum message, message now gone, but here's the summary - I have not used, only made note of the product "Matt with Grass

Valley Canopus in their tech support department stated that the 110 will suffice for most hobbyist. If a person has a lot of

tapes that were played often the tape stretches and the magnetic coding diminishes. If your goal is to encode tapes in good

shape buy the 110, if you will be encoding old tapes of poor quality buy the 300"

http://desktop.thomsongrassvalley.com/products/ADVC300/index.php about $500
          Or
          http://www.amazon.com/Canopus-ADVC300-Advanced-Digital-Converter/dp/B0006UMGHE

• 2. Re: Sony HDR-FX7 not recognized
            Harm Millaard Level 7

From a low ex-student, since you are high by your own acclamation, start reading the manual and follow classes. Oh, since you are in charge of the camera, did you allow it sufficient time for coffee breaks and sanitory stops?