10 Replies Latest reply on Nov 14, 2009 3:24 PM by Jim_Simon

System Recommendation

kaymen667

Hi,

I'm looking for some suggestions for an editing system. I was a video editor over 10 years ago and then went into web development so I have been out of the video world for ages. Now my company has decided to start doing some video work and have asked me to set things up. It's been so long and so much has changed i'm not sure where to start system wise. At this point I can go Mac or PC. The camera I will be using is a Panasonic HDC-TM300 which is AVCHD.

The things I know for sure are:

I will be upgrading from CS3 Production Premium to CS4

Videos will be 80% for the web 20% DVD

We are planning to start small and then invest in better equipment when budget allows (camera, lighting, edit system)

Will be shooting in HD

Things I need to know:

Should I go Mac or PC (comfortable on both)

Do I need any kind of add on card for editing

What would be a good amount of storage and Ram to start with

What else should I know before I buy.

Thanks in advance, this is all very confusing at the moment, lol.

• 1. Re: System Recommendation
          Jim_Simon Level 8
          Should I go Mac or PC (comfortable on both)

You'll get more for your money with a PC, especially if you build it yourself.  Plus, you'll be able to interface better with the rest of the computing world, which is also PC (except for those few insignificant rabble rousers who actually use a -gulp- Mac.)

And Windows 7 really rocks!

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: System Recommendation
            Chuck A. McIntyre Level 3