11 Replies Latest reply on Nov 17, 2009 7:13 AM by kglad

How to prevent swf files being downloaded

alysonrainer Level 1

People,

I'm a teacher and I have some animations made in flash language (swf). I would like to publish these animations on my web site so my students could see, but I wonder if there is any way to prevent these animations being downloaded.

Example: when I see an animation published on my web site, this animation is stored in Internet Temporary Files and I can save this animation anywhere. How can I prevent an animation is stored in the temporary folder? In other words, this animation can only be seen if the user is logged on the site.

Urgent!!!

Thanks.

Alyson

• 1. Re: How to prevent swf files being downloaded
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

you can't.  if a swf is viewed in a web browser, it's in the viewer's cache.

• 2. Re: How to prevent swf files being downloaded
            alysonrainer Level 1

Thanks a lot for the answer, but there is any way that I can erase de cache so that the user can't get it?

• 3. Re: How to prevent swf files being downloaded

no.  it would be a substantial security risk if you were able.

• 4. Re: How to prevent swf files being downloaded
                moccamaximum Level 5

You could implement a kind of time-barrier, like in the trial versions you download from softwarecompanys.

For the most users, that are not understanding actionscript and know how to read the code, even if they decompile it, that would prevent the swf being played after a certain date that you would have to implement in your code.

In AS2 the code would be like this:

var now:Date = new Date(); //reads the user system date
                var release:Date = new Date(2009, 11, 16); //here goes the date, when you want to have the program deactivated

if(now <= release){

playSwf(); // here goes your normal code

}

else{

doNothing();

}