5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 11, 2009 11:55 PM by moccamaximum

How do you expand a composition and scale all the elements' relative positions and sizes?

Tod Elkins

Hi - I am an editor and AE user, don't use flash - I have received an .fla file that has all the elements available, at 600 x 400.  I'd like to expand the composition to 720x480 and have all the elements scale inside, and center up.  I have tried what I thought was a logical approach, which is to expand the comp and then group all the elements on the timeline and then scale them.  But, no luck.  Any ideas?  I'd bet this is a simple thing to do, just don't know how to do it.  Any help, much appreciated.  Cheers, Todus.

• 1. Re: How do you expand a composition and scale all the elements' relative positions and sizes?
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I don't know what you mean by center up, but here's an option that might work well if your file's content is not image laden (meaning it uses Flash vector graphics rather than imported images).  If the file is being displayed in a web page, just change the dimensions of the file specified in the html embedding code.  This will work even if your file does have images, it's just that the images may start to look unclear due to being enlarged slightly.

I do not know how to do what you want to do in the editor except for going piece by piece... that is not saying there isn't a way to do it all at once, I'm just not aware of it.

• 2. Re: How do you expand a composition and scale all the elements' relative positions and sizes?
            Tod Elkins Level 1

Thanks, Ned.  What I mean by 'center up' is that the elements will scale but also move to the center of the newly resized comp - when I've tried to expand the pieces, they've stayed in place, which is to say to the left side of where the smaller comp used to center.