5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 12, 2009 5:42 PM by zeroskillz

Attaching AS3 Script To Flash Movie

benoismyname

Hi;
      I'm getting closer. I studied 2 tutorials twice, but apparently missed an important detail. I have the following code in a file called HelloWorld.as:

package
      {
         import flash.display.Sprite;

public class HelloWorld extends Sprite
         {
            public function HelloWorld() {
               trace("Hello World");
            }
         }
      }

I open up a new AS3 file, go to Properties and enter "HelloWorld" in the class field. Then I press ctr+enter to play the resulting swf. Nothing happens, not even a compiler error. Please advise.
      TIA,
      beno

PS Where would I see that trace, anyway?

• 1. Re: Attaching AS3 Script To Flash Movie
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

your as file needs to be in the same directory as your swf and you need to type HelloWorld in the document field in the properties panel.

• 2. Re: Attaching AS3 Script To Flash Movie
            benoismyname Level 1

1) Open up brand new AS3 doc

2) Ctr+F3 to get to Properties

3) There ain't no "documents" field. Just a "class" field.

Please advise.

TIA,

beno

• 3. Re: Attaching AS3 Script To Flash Movie
              kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

it should say:  "Document class:" followed by an input textfield where you would type HelloWorld.  your .as file also needs to be saved as HelloWorld.as.  case-counts in all 4 locations where you type HelloWorld.

• 4. Re: Attaching AS3 Script To Flash Movie
                benoismyname Level 1

I figured it out. For the record, nobody suggested, nor do I recall the tutorials I read suggested that I __save_the_file__ and *then* hit ctr+enter

beno

• 5. Re: Attaching AS3 Script To Flash Movie
                  zeroskillz Level 3

Yes, thats a key difference between timeline script and external script.