3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 18, 2009 1:13 PM by chris.s.jordan

AIR with JavaScript and AJAX (noob design issues)

chris.s.jordan

Okay, so as the subject states, I'm a noob when it comes to designing an AIR app. My question is kind of two fold:

First, as a matter of design, I've got a main window that has several drop-down type menus "File", "Preferences", "Help" that kind of thing. My plan was to keep reusing the main window for each of my different screens (unless a pop-up/dialog type screen was called for)

Anyway, the application I'm writing will, in part, handle a database of patrons. So under one of the menus (File in this case) I've got a "Patron" option. Clicking on "Patron" fires a function called newPatron() which in turn calls my function ebo.displayScreen('patron.htm'). This latter function takes the filename passed in and reads that file then dumps it's contents out to the main screen.

So, my main window consists (in part) of the following html:

<body onload="ebo.doLoad();">

<div id="content"></div>

</body>

then my displayScreen function looks like this:

function displayScreen(filename){

var my = {};

// get a handle on the file...

my.file = air.File.applicationDirectory(resolvePath(filename);

// get a handle on the stream...

my.stream = new air.FileStream();

//open the stream for read...

my.stream.open(my.file, air.FileMode.READ);

// read the data...

my.data = my.stream.readUTFBytes(my.stream.bytesAvailable);

// close the stream...

my.stream.close();

// update the screen (I'm using jQuery here)

$("#content").empty().append(my.data);

}

So anyway, this works like a champ. I click on "Patron" from my file menu and the screen changes to display the contents of patron.htm.

Currently, patron.htm just contains the following:

<div style="text-align:left;">

<input type="button" value="add" onclick="ebo.add(1,2);" />

</div>

<div id="result"><div>

ebo.add looks like this:

function add(a,b){

var my = {};

my.result = a + b;