10 Replies Latest reply on Jun 20, 2008 8:51 PM by pixlor

Basic Hotspot guidance requested

phraserat
      Hello everyone,
      My first post, and I am new to Fireworks/conversion to webpage. So I am sorry that it may seem so basic.
      Situation:
      I have a car graphic with headlights.
      I have created a hotspot for each headlight.
      I want a graphic that represents a beam of light coming from the headlight to show when the mouse hovers over the corresponding headlight. I have created the headlight beam graphics.
      I do not want a circular frame animation or graphics to remain on page once the user moves off the hotspot.
      I would be very pleased if somebody could assist.
      thank you for looking.
      best regards

• 1. Re: Basic Hotspot guidance requested
          pixlor Level 4
          Depending on what your image looks like, you need rollover images or possibly a disjoint rollover. To make this work, you need to slice your graphic into multiple images (which are re-assembled like a puzzle). When you move your mouse over one headlight, then one of the puzzle pieces is exchanged for a version with a headlight beam on it.

The tricky thing is that all your puzzle pieces have to be rectangles and none of them can overlap.

Look at your image and see if you can divide it so that the area where each headlight beam would be on into its own rectangular area. If you can, if the two headlight beams can be put into their own rectangle with no overlapping, then slice your image and make two rollovers, one for each beam. This is the easiest way.

If the two beams would be too close together to separate, then you can do a disjoint rollover. You need to slice your design so that, for the area where the beams are, you have one image for one headlight, another image for the other headlight, and a third (the default) image for when no beams are shining. The headlights themselves can not be part of this image.