8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 1, 2009 9:18 AM by dm_devotee

disable button in current state

dm_devotee

hi everybody,

i'm new to catalyst, so my question may probably seem stupid ;-)

i've build a little website in PS CS4 an try to bring it to live in catalyst. my problem is the folloing:

how can i disable a button in a selected state?

i can configure the look when it's disabled, but can't find an option to disable the button.

for example when i've clicked the "links"-button, it should be disabled (and look in a special way) until i choose another state and leave the "links-state".

thanks

• 1. Re: disable button in current state
          Tara Jane Feener Level 3

Hey dm!

Definitely not a stupid question.

Just to make sure, the desired behaviour you would like as is follows:

1) Click the links button

2) The links button becomes disabled

To set the disabled state of a button when you're in particular state, you want to use the interactions + action sequences.

1) Select your links button

2) In the interactions panel (right hand side of catalyst, in the middle), click the Add Interaction button.

3) Kepp the 'On click' part as is, and change the 'Play Transition to State' field to 'Play Action Sequence'

4) In the Timelines Panel (bottom of Catalyst), you will see State Transitions and Action Sequences listed on the left hand side.

5) Click 'Add Action', followed by 'Set Property'.  We want to set the 'enabled' property to be disabled.

6) On the right hand side, in the properties panel, you will now see a field called "Property:".

7) From the combobox, select 'enabled', and set the value to false (a new empty combobox will appear to the right).

8) Run your project.  Now when you click on your button, it will set the button as disabled (and will display the button however you customized in the button's disabled state).

Becoming comfortable with these panels will help you take full advantage of Catalyst.