9 Replies Latest reply on Nov 16, 2009 2:02 PM by douglaseye

Still photos disappear from video

douglaseye

I am just learning Premiere Elements for a newspaper where I work and designed a 4-minute video in which I dropped into the Timeline in 2 different place a series of four still photos. When I re-opened the file this morning, all the photos were missing from the timeline (the rest of the video was fine). In adding the photos through the 'Get Media' tab should the program not have added them for good or are the photos as they show in the Premiere Elements Project pointing to files on my desktop? In that case, perhaps I moved the original photo file folder? Does that original folder need to remain in one place for the life of the project? I may have uploaded the stills from a file in my paper's Staging area that is purged the following day.

Thanks for any insights. I have since re-imported the photos adn re-done the timeline which was a hassle.

Douglas

• 1. Re: Still photos disappear from video
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Ensure that those photos are truly on your computer's hard drive.

If you add them to a project from a camera or from an external hard drive that you later disconnect, there will be no link to them and they will disappear.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Still photos disappear from video
            douglaseye Level 1

Hmmm, that may well have been the case, come to think of it. Well done, Mr. Holmes!

• 3. Re: Still photos disappear from video
              the_wine_snob Level 9

Besides insuring that the images are located on your system, and linked properly, make sure that they are sized to your Project's Frame Size. As an example, if you have an SD Project, images no larger than 1000x750 should be used. With an HD Project, going much above 1920x1080 can cause issues.