10 Replies Latest reply on Nov 25, 2009 2:16 AM by jackscon joseph

New User with Audio Question (Elements 8)

Catch_Phrase

Hello everyone-

I'm brand new to video editing and started my first project last night.  It consists of just one video/audio track, and one soundtrack.  What I would like to do is have the Audio 1 track completely silent while the Soundtrack is playing, and towards the end of the video, I would like the Audio 1 track to start playing.  I've been just manually sliding the fader under Change Track Volume during playback.  I'm sure there's an easier way to do this, but I'm not sure how.  I started playing the Audio Mixer as well, but still cant figure out a way to just have the Audio 1 track mix in towards the end of the video.  This is a project that needs to be uploaded onto YouTube if that makes a difference.  Thanks in advance.

-Cheers

• 1. Re: New User with Audio Question (Elements 8)
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

You should use audio keyframes.First, ensure you're in Timeline mode, not Sceneline.

One way to do this is to open the Audio Mixer (click the Audio Tools button on the timeline and select Audio Mix). Then play your video and, moving the sliders up and down as needed to raise and lower the levels.

Doing this will create audio keyframes -- little white dots on the yellow line that runs horizontally through you audio track. Drag these points up and down (or delete them) to raise and lower the volume at specific places.

(There's actually a less sloppy way to do this, but it's hard to describe on a forum post. It's in my book though!)

• 2. Re: New User with Audio Question (Elements 8)
            the_wine_snob Level 9