7 Replies Latest reply on Nov 19, 2009 2:58 PM by DickLTech

Need to clean up garbage in a clip

DickLTech Level 1

I have a problem.  I have a clip, that can't be recreated, that has ends/tops of sets and/or a mic hanging in.  I need to clean it up.  I first thought I'd throw a solid in front and mask the part I want to change out.  Good idea... except, the camera moves and sometimes there's an actor merging the bad spot, also moving.  I racked my brain to no avail.  I'm somewhat new to AE and don't kmow all the tricks yet.  Is there some way I can take these bad spots out and replace them with copies of the wall (normal scene background) and not have to sequence the frames out and individually change each one in photoshop, then import the sequence back in???  Just need to know if it's possible (and how of course), I know I got a lot of work ahead here.

Dick

• 1. Re: Need to clean up garbage in a clip
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

Well, you have a clone stamp in AE that certainly could take care of the matter just as well as the one in PS. That aside, you simply wouldn't do these things in the manner you describe. You would patch together a clean plate from still frames and cleanly cut out the talent, then re-integrate both. If the camera moves, you first need to track or matchmove it, which might be the bigger part of the exercise, as it either requires a lot of manual work, some clever 2D motion stabilization or in worst case, a 3D tracking program like SynthEyes, PFTrack or Boujou. In any case, painting is probably totally the wrong way to do it. It's gonna look iffy due to the painted spots probably looking notably different from frame to frame, depending how "noisy" you BG wall is. If you have no other option, at best patch the BG together using masks and multiple instances of the clips. It's still gonna be a lot of manual labor, though.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Need to clean up garbage in a clip
            Andy Bay Level 1