7 Replies Latest reply: Nov 18, 2009 7:16 AM by the_wine_snob RSS

Rotate Video in Premiere Elements 8

newtoedit Community Member

Rotate Video in Premiere Elements 8

Hello there, I’m new to this so bare with me.
      I took video with my Canon Powershot SD550. The video is shot in NTSC 640 x 480. I want to rotate the video 90 degrees.

So I go into Premiere Elements, add the video and select rotate 90degs under motion. The video rotates as expected. The issue is the video is now taller in the vertical respect then the black window (I don’t know what this is called) behind the video and when I export the video it is essentially cropped on the top and bottom.

So I tried to scale the rotated video down to fit the black window, export it, but the quality of the video is now shot.

Is there anyway to rotate the video and keep the quality without it being cropped?
      If you need more info please let me know.

Thank You.

• 1. Re: Rotate Video in Premiere Elements 8
          the_wine_snob Community Member

Unfortunately, you have done what needs to be done, and once you Scale the footage, effectively Cropping part of it, but filling the frame. As you note, the quality does suffer. As Video is horizontal, the lesson is to always shoot with the still camera in the horizontal position.

It is far easier to Rotate 180 degrees, than it is to Rotate 90 degrees, because of the Aspect Ratio issue.

Sorry to bear the bad news.

Hunt

• 2. Re: Rotate Video in Premiere Elements 8

Just to ensure I understand, you cannot set a custom frame size for video?  You more or less have to make the video fit the frame, which is defined when setting up the project?

Is there anyway to change the frame size once the project has been started?

Again, Thank You!

• 3. Re: Rotate Video in Premiere Elements 8
              you cannot set a custom frame size for video?  You more or less have to make the video fit the frame, which is defined when setting up the project?