18 Replies Latest reply on Nov 17, 2009 9:19 PM by RossPubGrp

[CS4] importing video with xdv8 codec...

RossPubGrp

Okay, I am on a windows version of premiere pro CS4. I am not very experienced with the software, so this could be amazingly obvious/simple, or it may truly be as hard as I am finding it to be. I need to import a video file, currently a .mov. I believe but am not certain that it was made on an Apple with Final Cut Pro. Premiere gives me a missing codec error.

When I try to play the file in most of my video players, including QuickTime, I get a missing or unsupported codec error (the sound generally plays fine, though - just the video is missing).One of my players actually named the codec, I believe... saying there was an error with xdv8 codec. So I did some googling, and found that mplayer has that codec.

So I download and install the latest mplayer for windows (SMPlayer to be precise), and it plays the video fine. However I still cannot import this video into Premiere. And the SMPlayer doesn't offer an export, save as, etc. function.

I found all of the codec .dll files that the SMPlayer uses, but have no idea how (if it is possible) to get Premiere to recognize them... and I am not sure which it is, as none of them have xdv8 in the title.

Is there a way to import a codec into premiere if it is not part of a codec installer package?

Does anyone know where I can get a codec installer package for Premiere that includes the xdv8 codec?

Is there any other way to work around this issue?

Thanks!!!

• 1. Re: [CS4] importing video with xdv8 codec...
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Your best bet is to convert to DV AVI type2.

Pr does not like delivery formats, especially not rather esoteric ones. Delivery formats are for watching, not editing.

• 2. Re: [CS4] importing video with xdv8 codec...
            RossPubGrp Level 1

Thanks for the suggestion... but that begs the question... how?