11 Replies Latest reply on Nov 19, 2009 10:15 AM by the_wine_snob

Problem importing mpg into Premiere Elements 3

Diverdave_1980

Hi all,

First post on this forum and a complete novice with PE! Ok, first off my system spec:

Windows XP Pro SP3 (latest updates and drivers installed)

AMD Quad Core 955 Black Edition 3.2GHz (SSE2 compatible)

Gigabyte M/Board GA785GT

4GB DDR3 1333MHz Crucial RAM

500GB 7200RPM SATA HDD

I built this PC myself and designed it with 2 tasks in mind, Flight Simulator and video editing. I tested many different applications for video editing and found Adobe offered the features, price and stability i was after. I installed Adobe PE 3 no problems, re-booted, installed the latest service pack (3.0.2), again re-booted.

Now it was time for my first project, and i tried to import some mpg files from my hard drive (originally came from my Sony camcorder) into Adobe PE3. I noticed there was a bar flashing in the bottom right hand corner which said 'Indexing'. Fifteen minutes later it was still there, the preview pane stated 'Media Pending' but as this file was less than 5MB i cancelled the operation.

I tried several mpg files of various sizes and had the same result every time. I then converted the mpg files to VOB files and Adobe accepted them straight away. It even rendered over 4GB in less than 5 minutes, but converting my mpg to VOB files is an extra process that i didn't want or expect to have to go through, after all the Adobe website states that PE3 accepts mpg files and was one of the many reasons why i bought it.

Can anyone offer me a solution or some advice?

Thanks in advance,

Dave

• 1. Re: Problem importing mpg into Premiere Elements 3
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Well, first off, MPEGs and VOBs are the SAME format, so if you're converting one to another you're just wasting your time.