17 Replies Latest reply on Nov 18, 2009 11:42 PM by AndrewND

Adobe Encoder Making Footage too Bright.

AndrewND

Hi, I'm Andrew, I appreciate you taking the time to look over this, as I know how forums like this get one post users from time to time. Hopefully I will not be like that and will be able to develope and contribute.

I'm a student, I got the Production Premium pack just yesterday, spanked it onto my new dell...running an Intel i7 processor, Windows 7 64 bit, Intel Sound, Nvidia Graphics GT220, and such and so forth.

Everything has worked great, but I captured video today, edited it, and rendered. All of my renders take the video and jack up the brightness and take out the contrast making it look terrible. I double checked my monitor, and it defintely looks different in the project than it does in the render on my computer screen. I tried multiple codecs to no success. I burned a DVD and it still looked bad.

I then took other video files I had on my computer, just random stuff, not stuff I had captured, and it still jacked up the brightness on those.I'm at a loss, everything is default. I tried updating but it says it can't connect (possible firewall/server issues...that's yet to be resolved).

Inside the project in Premier it looks good, exported to After Effects it looks good, in the render preview in after effects and the encoder it looks good, but no matter what it ends up way to bright with no contrast.

Even if I turn the brightness way down to look like the dead of the night, the rendered preview makes it look gray and disgusting. I've rendered about a dozen things to absolutely no success. I'm used to CS2 at the school looking exactly as I had just seen it. I don't know if there's an installation error, and maybe just sending it all outta there woudl help.

Is it also possible that it's a graphics card error?

• 1. Re: Adobe Encoder Making Footage too Bright.
          Jim_Simon Level 8

By any chance are these all Quicktime exports?