3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 16, 2008 8:48 AM by pcather

Loading different variables into the same instance

pcather
      I'm very new to flash. I have a txt file with various variables in it. I want to load different variables into one instance depending on which button is clicked. Here's a simplified version of what I'm trying to do.

animal.txt contains
      &animal1=Dog&animal2=Cat

My flash file contains two buttons- One is a picture of a dog the other is a picture of a cat. The file also contains one dynamic text box with a variable assigned to it. The word Dog or Cat will show in the text box depending on which box is clicked.

If I had just the picture of the dog and one text box, and if I assign the text box the var=animal1, I know that I can attach this action to the dog button:

on (release) {
      loadVariables ("animal.txt", this);
      }

This works. I click the dog picture and the word dog shows up in the box

But what do I do about the cat button? Since the variable in the text box is animal1 not animal2

I tried this: I gave the text box the var name: animal

Then I attached this action to the dog button:

on (release) {
      var animal:String=animal1;
      }

And this to the cat button:

on (release) {
      var animal:String=animal2;
      }

This doesn't work.

Can anyone help? Please keep it simple as I'm very new to this.

Thanks so much.

• 1. Loading different variables into the same instance
          Noelbaland Level 1
          Hello there,

I'll show you a much simpler and more productive way to accomplish what you want. We'll start with a few changes to your objects on stage.

1) Click on your dog button and in the Properties panel give it an instance name of btnDog. While the button is still selected, open the Actions panel and delete all that script off it.
          2) Do the same for the cat button but give it an instance name of btnCat and delete the script off it.