5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 27, 2015 4:04 AM by swechris73

For all the Illustrator chart gurus

mnoone19

I work in the financial industry and I have to add data labels to all bars that appear in my performance graphs (see http://fundinvestor.calamos.com/ClosedEndFunds/CEFund.aspx?name=CHI under the "Performance" tab as an example). What's a way to do this without keying these numbers in per data point? I saw there's this technique that Adobe offers for column totals: http://livedocs.adobe.com/en_US/Illustrator/13.0/help.html?content=WS714a382cdf7d304e7e07d 0100196cbc5f-619e.html but that's not working. What am I doing wrong? Adding data labels to bars is ridiculously simple in Excel, why can't I find the way to do it easily in Illustrator?

• 1. Re: For all the Illustrator chart gurus
          ferdydurke Level 1

Not a guru, but that link does explain it, in all its relative rube goldberginess.

draw a rectangle for the column, color it etc; using the text tool, type % and then 0 followed by a digit that represents how many numbers you wish to appear after the decimal (%03 would get you 4.123 for instance); format the text as you will; place the text where you want it relative to the rectangle; group the rectangle and the text; select design under object>graph; make new design.

make graph; enter data; close data window; select graph; under object>graph>column select column design and column type (I like sliding the best)

You can color individual columns using direct select tool.

Excel probably works better

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: For all the Illustrator chart gurus
            mnoone19 Level 1