8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 21, 2009 6:27 PM by Jim_Simon

Horizontal flickering in Premiere Pro CS4

JMLC1234

Help, I have raw footage shot in HD

V 720p 24fps. I am on a PC with Windows XP Pro. When I play the clips on windows media player, they are fine. When I import them into Premiere Pro CS4 they have horizontal razor like flickering across the screen, especially during motion or fast moving scenes. I have Matrox Axio LE as well. I built an editing computer just for video editing and this is very annoying. I am new to Premiere Pro and am wondering what I am doing wrong. Help.

• 1. Re: Horizontal flickering in Premiere Pro CS4
          TL2121 Level 1

jm

What camera and format did you shoot this 720p 24 with? Is it AVCHD? EX? DVCPROHD? what sequence settings are you using?

make sure that you pick the correct 720 24 PROGRESSIVE sequence settings when creating a new sequence. I'm assuming your placing progressive footage in an interlaced sequence- could that be? make sure you get your sequence settings correct before placing your 720p footage in there.

How do you like that Axio? I've worked with Matrox but it was the cheaper RTX100 I think at a shop I used to work at and I HATED it- so many damn bugs and when Premiere came out with an update you had to wait a month for Matrox to catch up- Is AXIO any good?

it seems expensive

Hope any of this helps

Good luck keep us updated

• 2. Re: Horizontal flickering in Premiere Pro CS4
            JMLC1234 Level 1

I shot this with a JVC GY-HD200UB ProHD camera in HDV-HD24P. Sequence settings are either HDV>HDV 720p24 (progressive scan) or Matrox-HD>720p@23.98fps (progressive scan). I've read that this is an interlace problem, that's why I'm lost on this one. You are right about the Matrox and it was expensive. Haven't really decided whether it was worth it or not yet. Any help will be appreciated.

• 3. Re: Horizontal flickering in Premiere Pro CS4
              TL2121 Level 1