6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 20, 2009 7:41 AM by Isolder

Creating vector paths from hand drawings

Roxy_Silver

I'm sorry if this is a bit of a basic question - i am an illustrator novice.  I have always used photoshop and now i have to move over to illustrator to create vector based drawings/files for my new job (fashion print designer).

I do a lot of hand drawing (i am a print designer) and scan them in to manipulate on the computer.  Is there any way to trace these drawings (they are black and white print designs), so that all of the black images become editable vector paths/outlines?

OR do i need to trace them all by hand (again) on the computer??  I'd really appreciate any advice as otherwise i need to rethink my working methods quickly!!

• 1. Re: Creating vector paths from hand drawings
          Jacob Bugge MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Roxy silver,

Presuming you have one of the later versions, you may use Live Trace (Tool) which performs automatic tracing. You may find it lacking in cleanness.

The consensus is to recommend tracing by hand over a locked image, using the Pen Tool which is the basic tool in Illy. Another option is redrawing it using one of the other tools such as the Paintbrush or Pencil Tool; you may use a Wacom tablet for that, in this process, you would be redrawing on top of the scanned image, looking at the monitor rather than the tablet you are working on.

The former option would make you accustomed the main tool. The latter option may be a way to bring your hitherto way of drawing into Illy. A combination would do both.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Creating vector paths from hand drawings
            Roxy_Silver Level 1