8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 23, 2009 2:45 AM by nealeh

Converting 8 mm film and VCR tapes to PRE

johndurse

I just purchased ION VCR 2 PC and have not opened the box (so I can return it).  Are there any issues when converting old VCR tapes to PRE?  What type of file formats should I be looking for?  I have two PCs one with Vista and the other with Windows 7.  I'm a novice with PRE.  The main purpose for the VCR tape conversion is, I had a local company years ago transfer our families super 8 mm film to a VCR tape.  The quality was poor (Dark).  I later visited the little shop and happen to notice the process they used for conversion (a closet, a 8 mm projector, and a kinda white sheet).

Would I be better off returning the ION box, or using a clean white sheet with my 8 mm projector that works (that I hope I can get a bulb on Ebay), and a hardly used Canon GL1, or send my old 8 mm film to a professional shop that will do a better job of conversion?

Thanks

• 1. Re: Converting 8 mm film and VCR tapes to PRE
          Kodebuster Level 3

I did a Google search on this box which turned up a bunch of links and reviews.

Half said it was okay, the other labeled it a qualified horror show.

After 15 minutes of surfing, I still was not abled to determine the actual video format that it output to when moving video to your PC (other than it was in a digitized format and Standard Definition).

I read some where that Aver Media EZ Video was the USB video capture interface utilized, which did not give me a good feeling.

Back to your dark videos that are now residing on VHS formated tapes. This ION box will do absolutely nothing to improve on that quality, if anything it will be further degraded when converted via Aver Media to let's assume an Mpeg2 format.

If the 8mm source moved to VHS resulted in poor quality, nothing going forward will help much.