15 Replies Latest reply on Nov 23, 2009 5:57 AM by JETalmage

How can I generate/copy to high-res rasterized output?

Iwakura-san

Okay, I admit, I'm very new to vectoring, but I'm running into an annoying rasterization problem with Adobe Illustrator CS3.

Ok, so I have a vectored image. It's low-res (72 DPS), because it's basically just lines. The preview window in Illustrator shows beautiful, totally smooth lines: picture-perfect. I "Select All", copy it into Photoshop (as pixels), and lo and behold, the image looks totally crappy! All jagged edges, no anti-aliasing, etc. So I figured I just make the image a bit larger, set the document raster size to 300dpi, and saved the new .ai file. To no avail, either. Even transformed it to higher res. Didn't solve it either.

At long last I resolved to just taking a bloody screengrab from the preview window, thinking that would at least give me a clear shot. Alas, I thought wrong. Illustrator still passes a crappy image to Photoshop! (Or rather, what you get in PtrScrn is apparently still vectorized data that Photoshop continues to show horridly). So, now I'm faced with an Illustrator preview window that can show the vectored image better than anything else, but with no way to export it in that quality to a rasterized image! Very frustrating.

I hope someone knows how to solve this. Thanks.

P.S. I wish I could show you, but I can't make the screengrabs!

P.P.S. I'm talking about "Overprint preview" above. "Pixel preview" also looks crappy in AI. So, the question then becomes, how can I output my stuff in "Overprint preview" quality?

• 1. Re: How can I generate/copy to high-res rasterized output?
          Doug Katz Level 4

OK, so ur language is not like clear. So u really need to like splain better what ur doing.