6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 6, 2009 8:10 PM by ugoharris

Changing Ramp color in After Effects

ugoharris Level 1

Hi all,

I'm still new to AE and currently using step by step guides from books to practice in AE. In one of my practice, I'm creating a text animation with a ramps shader as the background as seen in my attached file here, and according to the book, no matter initial your color choice from your color picker, the ramp color will eventually default to gradations of black and white as seen in my file here. I wonder if there's any way that I can have more control of my color here, so I'll choose the color of my ramp.

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Changing Ramp color in After Effects
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

When attaching images, use the camera icon or the pix will get caught up in the virus queue. As I'm writing this, it's not yet visible. Anyway, I'm not really sure what you are describing, since you didn't mention what book and chapter and even then it's probably a newer revision which I don't have. There's a million ways to create gradients in AE, so probably you are simply missing something obvious.

• - Ramp effect
          • - Ramp effect, followed by Colorama
          • - Layer Styles - Gradient Overlay
          • - Shape Layers with gradient fills

For some specific cases, the effect may require to be applied to a solid, where the other layer, e.g. a text layer acts as the matte. also make sure to adjust the start and end points of the gradients to fall within the dimensions of the layer to be affected.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Changing Ramp color in After Effects
            ugoharris Level 1

Ok. Thanks for the uploading tip. I've enclosed the image as an attachment here for more clarification. hope it helps

Ugoharris.

Date: Sun, 22 Nov 2009 23:02:50 -0700

To: ugoamadi@hotmail.com

Subject: Changing Ramp color in After Effects