4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 23, 2009 10:24 AM by yabbox

How to make a gradient on two paths

yabbox Level 1

Hello,

I am fairly new to Illustrator, although have used Photoshop, Fireworks and DW to some degree in the past.

In CS4, I am trying to make a country map with different counties or states.  Using the map of the UK and including Wales, Scotland, and some of the counties as an example.  I need to portray the whole country, but only highlight a specific part of the land, along a train line and so quickly fade away to almost transparent in the further edges.

Using the pen tool I have traced the country and county borders as paths. I then used the fill tool to make each country, or sea, a different colour.  Now I want to fade the edges of my map away to transparent to bring attention to the middle.  I have drawn another path on top and beyond the edge of the artwork and tried to make a transparency overlay and gradient in this path to make it fade to the edges.  However, this does not work as I had hoped for three reasons.

1) the darkest edge of my 'fade path' does not blend into the country below but is quite an obvious line.

2) the gradient is a different colour as it sits on top of other paths of different colours.

3) the gradient is linear, from top to north, of radial, from a certain spot.  I need the gradient to flow out in all directions from a un-uniform 'blob' roughly in the middle.

Can you please tell me how I can achieve my aim?

3) I had one more query when tracing my map ...  I have two shapes and the paths align along one edge, think of the south border of Scotland, and the north border of England for example.  At the moment I have these two paths running alongside each other but not joined. So if I didn't draw my pen accurately, there are small pockets where they don't touch. Ideally I would like to borrow the other path line for a time then leave it as it continues on it's own route.