4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 27, 2009 8:28 AM by zannag16

CS3: need script to replace spaces with underscores in paragraph and character style names

zannag16

Help! I'm extremely new to scripting.

I've managed to find and tweak existing javascripts to search through all of my paragraph styles to turn off hyphenation and to turn off balance ragged lines, but I need help with this one.

I'm working in Mac OS 10.4.11 using Indesign CS3.

I need a script that will search all of my paragraph and character styles in my open active document and replace spaces with underscores.

Can anyone help me with this??? It would be greatly appreciated!!!

• 1. Re: CS3: need script to replace spaces with underscores in paragraph and character style names
          [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant

Something like this?

for (a=2; a<app.activeDocument.allParagraphStyles.length; a++)
           app.activeDocument.allParagraphStyles[a].name = app.activeDocument.allParagraphStyles[a].name.replace(/ /g, '_');
          for (a=1; a<app.activeDocument.allCharacterStyles.length; a++)
           app.activeDocument.allCharacterStyles[a].name = app.activeDocument.allCharacterStyles[a].name.replace(/ /g, '_');

The first one starts at index #2 because it needs to skip "[No Paragraph Style]" and "[Basic Paragraph]", the second one only needs to skip "[None]".

• 2. Re: CS3: need script to replace spaces with underscores in paragraph and character style names
            zannag16 Level 1

That was amazing! It works!!!! Thanks soooooo much!!!!!

Followup questions..... the reason why I have to cleanup all of the styles names is because I need to export the text as XML.

In my style names, I still have some questionable characters: hyphens (-), slashes (/),  parentheses () and periods (.)

1) If these need to be changed (not sure if any of these need to be changed), what is the code for these characters so I can replace them with underscores?