6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 26, 2009 6:38 AM by cdsvvxv

Getting URL from address bar

cdsvvxv Level 1

I would like to get the URL from the address bar but I have come across a problem which would seem to be a security flaw. I am new to Flex but it seems to me that if I have the following:

• A Flex app at domain1:8080
      • A domain2:8080 that pulls in the Flex app from domain1:8080 by deeplinking to it

Then the Flex app believes that it is running from domain1:8080 and it does not seem possible to get the real URL under which it is running, i.e. domain2:8080. As far as I can tell domain2:8080 can also access my server side code even though I have a crossdomain.xml file that restricts access to only be available to domain1:8080. I assume that is because the Flex app is reporting that it is running from domain1:8080 when it is not. To get the URL from the address bar I have tried the following:

This prints out: null

var temp:IBrowserManager = BrowserManager.getInstance();
      temp.init(null,null);
      var myUrl:String = temp.url;

This prints out: domain1:8080/movie.swf even when runnig from domain2:8080

var applicationURL:String = mx.core.Application.application.url

Is there a way around this? It seems anyone can connect to the server as long as they deep link to the Flex app on another domain.

My intended model is that the Flex app can run on any third party server as long as the domain it is running under is registered with my site. If the site running the Flex app does not have an account then the connection should be refused. However, as described above I can't reliably get the domain under which the Flex app is running and crossdomain.xml doesn't seem to work in the above scenerio.

• 1. Re: Getting URL from address bar
          paul.williams Level 4