8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 27, 2009 7:20 AM by the_wine_snob

Silly Question

Mike Fizer

Forgive my ignorance here, I'm new to video and coming from the still community. I'm shooting the 5DmII and have an simple issue that I can't seem to find an answer to. I'm taking my 5D files and running them through NeoScene for basic color/contrast corrections in Windows PE 7. I am currently not interested in building projects, but just exporting the file(s) to be edited later in Final Cut Pro. To retain as much information as possible, (archive) what format should I choose? The files are put on a portable HDD and shipped, so file size is not an issue.

Many thanks in advance.

Mike

PS: Any links/books for education on post production for beginners would be wonderful.

• 1. Re: Silly Question
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Mike,

Welcome to the forum.

I do not know NeoScene, so cannot comment there. Since you are working in MOV w/ H.264 for the HD files from the Canon, keeping the files in that format would probably be the best. I just do not know how NeoScene works, and what the file Export capabilities are. Your files are already compressed once, in the camera, so the best way to think of this that any additional compression will diminish the materal's quality. When you do just simple color correction, you have altered the material to a degree. Here comes the problem: if you use the H.264 again, you will compress again. The material will have to basically be Rendered, when you Export/Save from NeoScene. Even if it has what is called "Smart Rendering," that will be negated by having changed the footage.

Here are some thoughts: the .MOV [Animation CODEC] is a good one and is good with the Mac and FCP. However, I do not know if it handles HD. I get this CODEC a lot from Mac designers, and it works fine on my PC's. It's the HD aspect that I do not know, as I work in SD only.