4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 30, 2009 10:10 PM by i_dream_of_jeannie

Serious problems with El7/8: please help!

JimmyPP1701

Hello all,

I really hope someone can help me-I've had no luck whatsoever with the customer support team.

I have been using El 3 very successfully for a couple of years. I recently upgraded to El 7 in order to be able to edit HD video and SD video together.  The software works fine, however if I come to move multiple clips at once along the timeline, I get the black circle with a line through, and a small white box. This means I cannot move multiple clips. For me, this makes the product unusable.

I downloaded the trial for El8 and was please that this bug was not present. I have since ordered El 8 and installed it (a fresh install ith El 7 gone), however I have discovered that with this I cannot play any video in the monitor window! Again, this renderes the produce useless. I now have two pieces of software that are unusable, and I am receiving no help whatsoever from technical support. Please, can anyone assist?

James

• 1. Re: Serious problems with El7/8: please help!
          A.T. Romano Level 7

James

First thing to try...with Premiere Elements 8, Edit Menu/Preferences/General and uncheck "Enable GPU Playback". If that does not help, then check out the AdobeTech Note:

http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/515/cpsid_51526.html

Now, in the case of Premiere Elements 7, could you please go into detail about how you are "moving multiple clips along the Timeline"? Are you working on one track or mutiple tracks? How are you grouping these clips prior to the move? Where are you moving them to and from? Etc.

ATR

• 2. Re: Serious problems with El7/8: please help!
            i_dream_of_jeannie Level 1

James,

You can try the suggestion provided by ATR. Also I'd suggest that you update your system's Display drivers. That might help too..

• 3. Re: Serious problems with El7/8: please help!
              JimmyPP1701 Level 1

James