10 Replies Latest reply on Jul 15, 2008 7:29 AM by Newsgroup_User

Fixed Background Help

Martin.Maggiore
      Guys,

Im pretty new to Dreamweaver and am having some problems designing a website.

I am wanting to have a fixed background and then a square box with my content in. I dont want the background to move when I scroll down the page, but I do want the box with my content to scroll.

Any ideas how I can do this?

Next question... how come when I design a page in Dreamweaver, when I view it in IE its positioned completely different? i.e. I centre a picture in Dreamweaver and when I view it in IE its in the top left hand corner etc its very random

Thanks in advance
        • 1. Re: Fixed Background Help
          Level 7
          > I am wanting to have a fixed background and then a square box with my
          > content
          > in. I dont want the background to move when I scroll down the page, but I
          > do
          > want the box with my content to scroll.

The fixed background is simple, but if only the content region is scrolling,
          why do you need a fixed background.

However, putting content into a scrolling region like that is usually a bad
          idea -

1. It's user unfriendly - adding another vertical scrollbar can be
          confusing *and* troublesome.
          2. The content area will not print fully (only the visible region can
          print) unless you add a print stylesheet to the page.
          3. This content is usually the most important copy on your page - why force
          someone to scroll to read it?

> Next question... how come when I design a page in Dreamweaver, when I view
          > it
          > in IE its positioned completely different?

It's because "Im pretty new to Dreamweaver".

Show us your code, and we'll tell you why this is happening. The truth of
          the matter is this - it's always in the code. If you don't feel comfortable