6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 29, 2009 12:39 PM by Crt Gorup

spark.primitives and mouse events

Crt Gorup Level 1

Hi,

I am wondering which is the best way to handle mouse events (clicks) and graphic primitives (lines & squares). I created a set of primitives and I added them on a spark Group container. Now I would like to attach mouse event handler to every shape, but mouse events are not supported on spark primitives. What is the best solution to this problem. I came across to the following ideas.

1) Wrap every primitive in separate Group component and attach mouse event handler to it.

2) Store the positions of the primitives in a list and attach mouse event handler to the main Group component which holds everything together. Event handler would then have to compare mouse x,y to the coordinates stored in a list.

3) Extend spark.primitives.Rect class to custom component which would support mouse events. I have no idea how to implement this.

I am a beginner in Flex, so any suggestion is more than welcome.

Thanks, Crt

• 1. Re: spark.primitives and mouse events
          David_F57 Level 5

Hi

When you want to use primitives with mouse events you need to place them in a group, in the group you set mousetransparency to false so that only the primitives within the group react to the mouse. This goupr has a small triangle element the mousedown event only triggeres when the mouse is over the triangle.

<s:Group id="sizer" bottom="1" right="1" width="16" height="16" mouseDown="sizer_mouseDownHandler(event)" mouseEnabledWhereTransparent="false">

<s:Path data="M 0 16 L 16 16 L 16 0 L 0 16 z">

<s:fill>

<s:LinearGradient rotation="45">

<s:GradientEntry color="0xEDEDED"/>

<s:GradientEntry color="0xCDCDCD"/>

</s:LinearGradient>

</s:fill>

</s:Path>

</s:Group>

David.

• 2. Re: spark.primitives and mouse events
            Crt Gorup Level 1

Hi

Thanks for your help. It seems that this approach will work for me. I