5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 30, 2009 1:57 PM by kglad

Offset Value - ColorMatrixFilter

InsertGenericNameHere

Hello all,

Please excuse me if this is the wrong part of the Flash forum to post in, or if I did not correctly follow to forum guidelines.

I have searched for some time now for more information on the Offset Value from the ColorMatrixFilter.

I'm writing a paper on 'Matrices within Image Manipulation', and I'm using Adobe Photoshop and Flash as my "base".

I have read http://www.adobe.com/devnet/flash/articles/matrix_transformations_04.html this page, but I still have some questions,

concerning what exactly this value does?

I have no real knowledge about Flash, or any other Adobe Products for that matter, but  it's rather important I understand what I write down in my own paper!

Thank you in advance for any replies!

- Wesley

• 1. Re: Offset Value - ColorMatrixFilter
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

the key part of the colormatrixfilter is:

redResult = a[0] * srcR + a[1] * srcG + a[2] * srcB + a[3] * srcA + a[4]

greenResult = a[5] * srcR + a[6] * srcG + a[7] * srcB + a[8] * srcA + a[9]

blueResult = a[10] * srcR + a[11] * srcG + a[12] * srcB + a[13] * srcA + a[14]

alphaResult = a[15] * srcR + a[16] * srcG + a[17] * srcB + a[18] * srcA + a[19]

there are 4 lines of code that you need to understand.  each line can be considered independent of the other lines.  once you understand one line, you'll understand them all.

the first line yields the red as a function of the starting r,g,b,a and the top row of the colormatrixfilter.   there's nothing more to understand about that first line.  the remaining lines are no different except they yield different end-colors and are a function of the same starting r,g,b,a and a different row of the colormatrixfilter.

• 2. Re: Offset Value - ColorMatrixFilter
            InsertGenericNameHere Level 1

Thanks for the reply!