10 Replies Latest reply on Nov 30, 2009 11:07 PM by mdho8

Importing from a Sony HDR-XR500V

mdho8

Hi guys, noob here.

I've been digging all over the internet and I can't seem to find an answer to this.

I recently purchased a Sony HDR-XR500V Handycam. The camera is a 1080p hd camera (sorry I don't actually know much about specs) but I know a friend forewarned me about buying a camera with a hard drive because of the difficulties I'd have uploading. Stupidly, I purchased this camera and I'm pulling my hair out trying to get my video created.

I run Adobe Premiere Pro CS3 and the software won't detect my camera even when the computer does. Sony has me uploading through a program called Picture Motion Browser instead, which came with the camcorder. It then saves it in a weird file format (mt2?). The software gives me the options to convert it to wmv or mpeg2, but when I convert it to wmv the picture quality becomes cell-phone caliber and when I convert it to mpeg2 and import it adobe can't load the sound from the file.

If I can find a way to

-Import it into CS3 directly

or

-Convert it to mpeg2 and still maintain the sound

Then problem solved

I desperately need this for a project due this week and I hope you guys don't mind my noobness

Thanks! =D

• 1. Re: Importing from a Sony HDR-XR500V
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Two major problems with this camera:

1. AVCHD. It may require a much beefier computer than you currently have, something the salespeople never tell you when you buy the camera. I7 overclocked may be around minimum.

2. AC3 5.1 sound. You may need to demux your clips and convert the audio to 48 KHz 16 bit stereo PCM/WAV.

Do not convert to WMV. Leave it in the format it is imported. All conversions will severely reduce quality.

If you can still exchange the camera for another, more edit-friendly model, jump at it.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Importing from a Sony HDR-XR500V
            mdho8 Level 1