2 Replies Latest reply on Nov 30, 2009 10:47 PM by NewAtFireworks

Textfield help

NewAtFireworks

Hello,

I'm fairly new to Fireworks and I am stuck. Hopefully I've come to the right spot

I've created a bunch of pages for a website prototype. I've added the slices for the links, but now I've hit a problem, text fields. I want to show some people the prototype I've been working on so I've been exporting HTML and images. Everything was working fine with the links but the text fields I've created are not editable. I tried adding text boxes from the common library but same problem, not editable. I've tried many other things including exporting CSS and images, which made the text field editable but everything else was all over the place and my fonts were all off.

I'm wondering if there is a way I can just add text boxes to my original pages. Does anyone know what I can do here? I'll admit, I'm not a developer and don't know what I've done to mess up the css stuff. I'm creating this stuff to eventually send to a developer to build for me. However, before I do, I want to create someting interactive that I can show people to get their thoughts. The text fields don't need to do anything except "pretend" to accept the user's input.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

G

• 1. Re: Textfield help
          Sarthak Singhal Adobe Employee

When you select the text boxes which have been dragged from Common Library, do you see anything in the Symbol Properties panel?

This panel is accessible via Window->Symbol Properties.

This panel is context sensitive and will show editable fields when an object on the canvas is selected.

• 2. Re: Textfield help
            NewAtFireworks Level 1

Hi Sarthak,

Thanks for your help with this!

I checked in the symbol properties but I dont think anything is there.