6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 1, 2009 11:52 AM by Calman45

Question about Layers and Looping!

Calman45

Hey guys,

I am a newbie and hope I can explain this scenario properly.

Basically, I'm creating a banner in Flash 8 Pro, from previous graphic designs.     It consists of a scenic backdrop, a 4 frame logo and text which I want to sweep in from the left hand side across 20% of the banner.

Now! ... is there a way to create a layer to have this text appear in motion and stop at a desired position, while the main logo loops through the 4 frames continually?   (I had a go, but everything seems to be running off the same steam - no seperate control in other words)

Hope that's clearer than mud?

All the best,

Cal

• 1. Re: Question about Layers and Looping!
          markerline Level 4

Not sure where you're facing difficulties.  You can certainly separate animations across layers.  That's standard.  If you're talking about ActionScript 2.0 scripts then you might look at some of the help documentation and post your attempts and see if we can help you with syntax.  But from what it looks like you might not even need that much if any scripting if you're just using movie clips and text boxes.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Question about Layers and Looping!
            Calman45 Level 1

Hi markerline!

If it would make things easier, I could upload the experiment SWFto my web space and post a link here! (if that is permitted?)

Basically, I have created 3 layers (total of 130 frames) ... and I'm trying to make the 4 frame GIF and motion text have different behaviour/frame rate speeds, but I'm not sure how to do so.  The text, I would like to sweep in from the left and stop, while the  frame gif keeps looping at a much slower frame rate.

So, I guess I need to assign some kind of action to each layer? ... does scenes play a part.

Sorry for all the rookie questions, but this is only my 3rd day using Flash.

Kind Regards,

Cal