17 Replies Latest reply on Dec 4, 2009 12:16 PM by the_wine_snob

Cannot split or trim a clip PE7.

Fadel1 Level 1

I'm new to Premiere Elements 7. The clips don't appear in the time line. I only see a red line. When I try to spit a clip, nothing happens. I cannot find the point handle in the mini-timeline, only in the preview window. A frustrating experience, so far. Have used Premiere 6.5 in the past with success. Can anybody help? Thanks and regards

• 1. Re: Cannot split or trim a clip PE7.
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Is your video coming from an AVCHD camcorder? It could be that you're using a project with the wrong audio setting, per the FAQs to the right of this forum.

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/471666?tstart=0

• 2. Re: Cannot split or trim a clip PE7.
            Fadel1 Level 1

Yes the clip is from AV.. camcorder but it was transformed to MPEG. Do I still need to change the settings? I'm adding the ppictures of my screen: the clip has no name in the minitimeline and no point handles. Thanks for your help. Regards Fadel

• 3. Re: Cannot split or trim a clip PE7.
              the_wine_snob Level 9

There are two easy ways to Trim a Clip:

1.) With the Clip in the Project Panel, you can Dbl-click on it, to open it in the Source Monitor. There, you can set the In & Out Points. When done, drag the Clip to the Timeline.

2.) Once an instance of the Clip has been dragged to the Timeline, you can click-drag on either the Head, or Tail of it, to set the In and/or Out Points.

I would guess that the view of your timeline that you posted, can be scrolled to see the Clip(s), below where the red line appears. In PrE,I find that the scroll bars do not stand out all that well. The user needs to look for them.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 4. Re: Cannot split or trim a clip PE7.
                the_wine_snob Level 9
                Yes the clip is from AV.. camcorder but it was transformed to MPEG. Do I still need to change the settings?