9 Replies Latest reply on Dec 7, 2009 9:31 AM by BSAphex

CS3: Enable "Print Layer" checkbox?

BSAphex

Hello,

In the each layer dialog box there is a checkbox for "Print Layer". I'm trying to write a line of applescript that will enable that option for all layers in a document.

I'm new to scripting. Does anyone know what that command would be? Or know of another similar script that I might look at for guidance?

Thanks,
      Dennis

• 1. Re: CS3: Enable "Print Layer" checkbox?
          Dirk Becker  Level 4

Hi Dennis,

Please make yourself familiar with the example programs and documentation ( both installed and separate downloads ), to catch a general understanding. There is also plenty independent documentation on AppleScript itself.

Then you'd open your favorite object model browser such as AppleScript's dictionary, and search for the keyword "Layer".

That would show you layers live straight in documents, and have a "printable" property.

tell application "Adobe InDesign CS4"

set printable of every layer of active document to true

end tell

Btw, AppleScript is a nice language, but at the beginning its near natural, verbose expressions make working programs look really simple and obvious, whereas beyond copy-paste jobs in my opinion it requires more learning than for most other languages I've seen - concepts such as multi level addressing ( of .. of ), complicated restrictions ( whose ... ) and implicit loops ( every ... ) come to mind.

Dirk
          • 2. Re: CS3: Enable "Print Layer" checkbox?
            BSAphex Level 1

Hi Dirk,

Thanks for your help. That line works perfectly. I've looked at the dictionary for InDesign to reverse look up that script.

I've found several areas for layers when searching "layers". I was able to find the property for "printable", but wondering how you would know to use that property? I guess its something you figure as you go?